Liza’s Back! (is broken)

Trevor Ashley in Liza's Back (is broken)

Australian cabaret artist Trevor Ashley is bringing his latest show to London.

Titled: Liza’s back! (is broken), Ashley’s performance imagines how Liza might interpret some of the great broadway roles – from Grizabella, to Norma Desmond, to the witches of Wicked.

Trevor Ashley’s musical theatre credits in Australia include creating the role of Miss Understanding in the world premiere production of Priscilla Queen of The Desert – The Musical; Edna Turnblad in Hairspray and Monsieur Thenadier in Les Miserables. Trevor also created and starred in his one-man-show Diamonds are for Trevor, a tribute to Dame Shirley Bassey. Liza (On an E) has played sell-out seasons all over the world, including a week-long residency at the Vaudeville Theatre in the West End.

We spoke with Ashley ahead of his London performances:

When did you first realise that cabaret and musical theatre was where your passion was?

I think I was literally born this way. It’s kind of hilarious that even as a young child, all I wanted to do was sing and go to the theatre. I think Cats was the first musical I saw when I was 5!

What’s your favourite Liza song that you sing?

I really love doing New York New York! It’s always a hoot to do, and people love it, as clichéd as it is!

What do you think Liza would make of your interpretation of her singing Broadway classics?

I think she’d want to steal my charts! Look, I don’t think she takes kindly to impersonations, but I think secretly she’d love to sing many of these songs I do.

You debuted this show in Melbourne, what was the reception like?

It was pretty mental. It got huge laughs and four standing ovations a night, which was quite overwhelming. I’m really proud of it.

What do you hope that people feel when they come to see this show?

I hope they laugh a lot, but also come away remembering what a great talent Liza is, and how much of a legend she’s become. I want them to leave having had a ball!

What next for Trevor Ashley?

I’m hopefully going to get to be back in the UK a little bit more – that’s certainly my aim!

Liza’s Back (is broken) can be seen at London Wonderground at Southbank Centre from 31 August – 3 September 2016.

Read more from Gareth Johnson

The post Liza’s Back! (is broken) appeared first on Gay Star News.

http://ift.tt/29rqJAA

from Gay Star News http://ift.tt/29y7Lvg
via IFTTT

Leave a Reply

