Adam Lambert says he has gotten over body issues

Adam Lambert and Queen dedicate song to Orlando victims

With the surprise release of his Welcome to the Show video this week, Adam Lambert is also sharing some deep thoughts about identity.

‘Sometimes it’s terrifying to face your true, whole self, stripped of any pretense. The good, the bad, the cracks, and the scars,’ the singer writes in a Flaunt Magazine post.

‘I am no stranger to the feeling of not liking myself. Once I get past my own body image issues, I realize that I sometimes also neglect my own spirit. Living in a world filled with so much hatred sometimes makes cultivating self-love a very difficult task. I have always struggled with this as I’m sure many of you have.’

Lambert, 34, rose to fame in 2009 after finishing as runner-up on the eighth season of American Idol.

He has since released three solo albums, toured as a solo artist and with the surviving members of Queen, and undergone a series of hairstyles, hair colors and wardrobes.

But he has remained true to himself musically throughout even parting ways with his old music label over the direction of his career.

‘My path is a kind of paradox in that I get to share my craft with the world, but also be willing to throw myself to the wolves. To dare to be different, but still wanting to be accepted,’ he writes. ‘There is vast beauty to be found in life’s contradictions.

‘We as a society are obsessed with how to classify and define each person. There are new labels invented monthly for how to describe new “types”. In some cases, these labels are needed to empower us and give us clarity, but it seems that at some point, all the categorizing can become quite divisive.

‘I’ve seen so many people trapped by the identity they put so much effort into maintaining, or shunned by choosing not to. I have fallen into that trap myself.’

He concludes with this vow: ‘Through my art, I pledge to bring empathy and courage to anyone who has been made to feel unworthy or ashamed while daring to be themselves.’

The post Adam Lambert says he has gotten over body issues appeared first on Gay Star News.

http://ift.tt/1YXb5yG

from Gay Star News http://ift.tt/29smEQh
via IFTTT

Leave a Reply

