Looking was education in gay sex for Raul Castillo

Jonathan Groff and Raúl Castillo were two of the stars of Looking

Raul Castillo is glad he got at least one more opportunity to inhabit the role of Richie im Looking: The Movie which premieres on Saturday (23 July) on HBO.

The actor says he learned plenty playing the character of a gay hairdresser for two seasons and in the 90-minute wrap-up finale. One of the things he learned the most about was sex between two men.

‘As a straight guy, there was a lot I had to learn about,’ Castillo tells Out.com.

‘People are afraid of what they don’t understand, and if they’re afraid they don’t want to learn about it. But it’s not all that different. What I learned about male intimacy on Looking deepened my condition as a human begin.

I learned so much more about my gay friends and what they had going on when they had sex,’ he adds. ‘Luckily, I was around people who were very thoughtful and careful with me and how I approached the work. I wasn’t humiliated in anyway if I didn’t understand something. I was educated. That helped me build the character and tell the story the best way I could, especially in situations that were new to me.’

There was always plenty of sex in Looking whether it involved Richie and on-again, off-again boyfriend Patrick (Jonathan Groff) or other characters.

‘I always found the sex sharpened the characters,’ Castillo says. ‘Sex is a huge part of most of our lives and the fact that we don’t talk about it more is mind-boggling. I’m always interested in stories that are about a deeper understanding of what human intimacy really is.’

The post Looking was education in gay sex for Raul Castillo appeared first on Gay Star News.

http://ift.tt/29UxOrQ

from Gay Star News http://ift.tt/29UwXr7
via IFTTT

Leave a Reply

